User Login    
 + Register
  • Main navigation
Login
Username:

Password:


Lost Password?

Register now!
Fast Search
Slow Search
Google Ad



Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
Just popping in
Joined:
2001/1/27 11:17
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Hi,
Is a B-210 5-Speed the best to swap into a 1200? (I'm already used to first gear being to the lower left anyway!) I'd like to do the work myself and not have to worry about
too much welding and drilling to make the new transmission fit.

Posted on: 2001/2/1 7:40
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2000/1/10 8:43
From Snohomish, WA USA
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1200
Offline
The 5 speed will bolt right on but if it is the 5 speed with the reverse to the upper left you may have to get a different clutch plate assy. because I think the splines on the
shaft may be bigger. That what I heard. Any 5 speed with the reverse to the lower right will work but with any 5 speed, you will have to modify the mounting brackets in the
tranny tunnel.

Ernie

Posted on: 2001/2/1 3:23
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
1999/12/6 8:12
From Castro Valley,CA USA
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1189
Offline
Ive used both styles of 5spds and they mount up the same way. You should buy a clutch disk for a B210 because i think the splines on the input shaft are different.
Anyways, i had trouble with the reverse switch. It sticks out too far. So i plugged the hole with a bolt and sealer. Apparently the trans tunnel on automatic cars is bigger and it
may clear.
Also, i made the rear mount out of a plate of steel. The mount on the transmission and the mounting tabs on the body line up on the same horizontal plane. I cut the plate in a
horseshoe shape, drilled holes and used a old innertube as a vibration insulator. It worked great.
NOTE: this is basically a solid mount. The engine mounts are rubber. I dont know if this has any adverse effects on the transmission. Twisting,etc.

Posted on: 2001/2/1 4:38
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
Just popping in
Joined:
2001/1/18 6:23
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 10
Offline
Hello 1200 fanatics,
It's just my opinion, but the 5 speed with reverse in the upper left hand corner is awful, making the 1-2 power shift (perhaps the most fun of all) worthless. I used a 5 speed from an '81
210 sedan that has the correct shift pattern (reverse down and to the right, with the classic 1-4 'H' pattern). It has the identical spline shaft as the one from a 1200 4 speed, and is a
small and light weight tranny, again, very simliar to the stock 1200 4 speed. I had a perfect one of these in White Zombie, but the combination of an instantaneous 500 ft. lbs. of
electric motor torque and sticky Mickey Thompson baby wrinkle wall slicks was too much... ripped the input shaft right off after a few runs with progressively lower rear tire pressures!

See Ya.....John Wayland

Posted on: 2001/2/1 6:27
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
Home away from home
Joined:
1999/3/11 4:57
From Sydney
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Posts: 595
Offline
I just fitted a 210 dogleg 5 speed to my coupe a few weeks ago. The mounts were a bit of a pain as they about 2 inchs back from the origanal 1200's mounts. However, i ended up making a nice
strong mount out of thick flat strap steel. Works a treat. I dont even think it had the reverse switch on it as nothing fouled the tunnel. Well i lied, a bolt of some sort on the box was hard
up against the drivers side 1200 mounts, so i had to sorta twist the whole engine and box. Kinda hard to explain so i'll move on. The gearbox yes cant take too much of a thrashing, but behind
a warm A14/15 its should hold up if u dont light up the bags every set of lights. I wont be booting my coupe too much as i know this is a weak link with 150hp and want the 5 speed to be still
working when i replace it with a toyota box in a couple of months. I am even thinking of rippin it out after only a couple of weeks and shoving a 4 speed back in for the time being. damn i
love datsuns...

Scotty
Davo

Posted on: 2001/2/2 2:52
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
Home away from home
Joined:
2001/2/5 2:21
From San Diego California
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 161
Offline
I had to cut out the original tranny mounts
to fit a reverse up 5 speed in and fabricate
new ones.also had to replace the clutch disc
and drive shaft to match. Routing of the
speedo cable was also difficult. another
thing with that tranny(as mine did) has
weak linkage inside that can bend causing
reverse gear to be inaccessable(good thing
the car is lite).A very (VERY) noisey 4-speed
resides there now till I can come up with a
replacement
good luck

Posted on: 2001/2/5 3:05
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2001/1/20 8:04
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 113
Offline
Being a fairly new member and new to the scene what is the B-210 model known as
here in Australia.

Posted on: 2001/2/6 6:07
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Will a B-210 5-speed fit in a 1200?
Home away from home
Joined:
2000/1/20 6:09
From UK
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 235
Offline
A B210 is called a 120Y in Oz and Europe, a B210 in the US and Sunny in Japan.

Eddie
www.ratdat.com

Posted on: 2001/2/6 6:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]