Google Ad

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

looking for help
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
From Toowoomba & New Jersey USA
Group:
Registered Users
I proudly bought a 1976 Datsun b120 ute about 2 weeks ago. I've never owned a classic car before but always wanted to...so I am quite new to this whole thing. I am not mechanically inclined at all but I intend to learn. So far I have done major repairs to the body work where there was rust and I've replaced the battery. The car seems to run fine but it has some slight problems. I am too anxious to get it on the road but I am worried that it won't pass roadworthy. Would rather try and do the work myself than take it to a mechanic and pay loads of money. Just looking for some help from the experts and wondering if anyone has encountered these problems before:

1) New battery will not hold charge (I've replaced the old one because it did the same)
2) Driver's side headlamp is out but works when I fiddle with the 3-prong connector
3) Driver's side indicator will cut out randomly
4) I notice after the engine runs awhile there is a slight leak at the top of the radiator...seems to be because the hose is pinched under the cap?
5) Passenger window winder is broken...assuming I can get one from the wreckers?
6) Wiper blades need replacing...does a normal auto store carry these?
7) Reverse lights do not work, replaced all the bulbs still don't work
8) License plate light doesn't work, checked bulb and it appears fine
9) Dash lights for tachometer and speedometer not working...don't know if its the bulbs or wiring....I've checked the fuses under the dash and they are all intact. Too afraid to remove dash.
10) Driver's door lock doesn't seem to work but I noticed that driver's door doesn't fully close, is this why?
11) Noise coming from rear wheels when I drive it, could be wheel bearings?
12) Interior dome light doesn't seem to have an auto function...it's either on or off