Google Ad

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Strange brake problem on B310
Home away from home
From Atlanta, Georgia
Group:
Registered Users
I've been working through a brake problem on my B310 for about 2 months.

To be put simply, my brakes are extremely soft and don't grab until you're about an inch from the floor. Weird part is that I've replaced EVERYTHING on the car and bled about a gallon's worth of fluid through.

New wheel cylinders as of this morning, which actually made the problem worse! The master has been replaced 3 times, to confirm it wasn't a bad reman. New front calipers, some solid brake lines were re-bent and replaced with new line, and basically everything related to the brakes.

It acts as if I'm loosing hydraulic pressure, however all that pressure would have to go somewhere, and I'm not loosing a single drop of fluid from anywhere on the car.

I've found that if I set the hand brake up a few notches JUST before it engages the drums, it's better then before, but still not as it should be. At that, I'd assume it was a problem with the rear brakes, however like aforementioned, I'm loosing no fluid, and all the hardware, shoes, etc has been replaced.

Posted on: 2011/6/30 5:47

Re: Strange brake problem on B310
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
From East New Britain, Papua New Guinea
Group:
Registered Users
What about the little adjustors on the rear brakes?

Have you wound those in to see if it helps?

Posted on: 2011/6/30 5:52
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Home away from home
From Atlanta, Georgia
Group:
Registered Users
According to the FSM, they're self adjusting that re adjust as the hand brake is set, but yes, I did have to adjust them by hand since they weren't adjusting as they should. Another problem for another day. I did tighten them up a bit, and it didn't make much of a difference.

Posted on: 2011/6/30 5:57

From 48 North
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster