User Login    
 + Register
  • Main navigation
Login
Username:

Password:


Lost Password?

Register now!
Fast Search
Slow Search
Google Ad



Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


Tachometer
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30807
Offline
This is the 1972 tachometer, and it's a GX by the 6800 RPM redline

Attach file:



jpg  H34 GX.jpg (83.12 KB)
174_5d61cca64f140.jpg 998X999 px

jpg  H34 GX-.jpg (112.80 KB)
174_5d61ccaf8f96e.jpg 1169X1200 px

jpg  H34 GX_.jpg (81.99 KB)
174_5d61ccb70965d.jpg 928X929 px

Posted on: 8/25 0:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30807
Offline
1970-1971 tachometer H18 (AMC = originally designed for coupe)

Open in new window


Open in new window


Open in new window

Posted on: 8/25 1:11
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30807
Offline
This one's a bit of a puzzle ... maybe aftermarket? Or a later dealer accessory?

* Doesn't have the wiring loop as other 1200s have -- it has a single signal wire
* 1970 style lens attached
* 1972 style display (colors & font)
* does not have the 1972 style attachment stay

Attach file:



jpg  non-loop old-lens new-style TACH.jpg (67.53 KB)
174_5d61d391e3eae.jpg 970X604 px

jpg  non-loop old-lens new-style TACH b.jpg (79.45 KB)
174_5d61d39be88e8.jpg 1200X800 px

jpg  non-loop old-lens new-style TACH c.jpg (28.33 KB)
174_5d61d3b056ded.jpg 558X572 px

Posted on: 8/25 1:17
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Home away from home
Joined:
2013/12/3 4:41
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 359
Offline
hi.
how to test the tachometer off the car?

Posted on: 8/25 15:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2002/6/14 7:24
From Sydney
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2560
Offline
Quote:

ddgonzal wrote:
This one's a bit of a puzzle ... maybe aftermarket? Or a later dealer accessory?

* Doesn't have the wiring loop as other 1200s have -- it has a single signal wire
.....


I think that at some point someone has disassembled the wires. the "loop Wire" is there, just not hooked up in the right place. The black wire has been fastened to the Loop wire location in error.

I can double check as I have one on these tachos.

Posted on: 8/26 2:39
_________________

-----------------------------------------
1971 B110 Sedan GX Spec
1970 KB110 Coupe Track Car
1970 KB10 Coupe
-----------------------------------------
S13 caliper b...
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30807
Offline
Quote:
how to test the tachometer off the car?
Good question. The easiest way to test is to carry it to your running 4-cylinder car

Three wires:
* Black wire to batttery NEG (-) terminal
* Yellow wire to battery POS (+) terminal
* Black/White loop wire. Disconnect wires from COIL + terminal. Connect wires to one end of black/white loop. Connect other end of black/white loop to coil
Start engine and observe

You can also use a 6-cylinder car it will just read 2/3 of normal

Open in new window

Posted on: 8/26 5:57
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Home away from home
Joined:
2013/12/3 4:41
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 359
Offline
thank you.

Posted on: 8/26 10:06
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Home away from home
Joined:
2003/9/4 4:47
From Beautiful Sunny (sic) Melbourne
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 245
Offline
Quote:
You can also use a 6-cylinder car it will just read 2/3 of normal


Or will it?

Does it count the number of pulses received from the coil and divide by 4 (or 6 or 8?) and display that as rpm? Actually it would divide by 2, 3 or 4 as there are 4 pulses per 2 revolutions with a 4 cylinder engine (4 cylinders, and 2 revolutions in a 4 cycle engine).

Try it and see?

Posted on: 8/27 2:04
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30807
Offline
good question. I forget if it reads 1/2 or double. Apparently you can change the capacitor or the resistor (inside the tachometer) to get it to read correctly on a different size engine

Posted on: 8/28 0:38
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Tachometer
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30807
Offline
here is how the tachometer mounts to the dashboard facia

The blank plate can be removed and the tachometer bolted on

Three screws go in the holes (red arrows) and fasten the tachometer to the facia. It is possible to bolt/unbolt it while it's in the the dash -- by reaching up from below and fiddling with the tiny screws, but is not easy. Much easier and less error prone to just remove the facia in the first place

Attach file:



jpg  Tachometer mounting.jpg (52.00 KB)
174_5d65daa39a91c.jpg 992X864 px

jpg  clock or tacho mounting 26029x.jpg (37.57 KB)
174_5d65dab2369bf.jpg 560X520 px

jpg  Gauge mounting to back of facia plate cgb2.jpg (56.87 KB)
174_5d65dac10c42d.jpg 1200X448 px

Posted on: 8/28 2:38
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]