Fast Search
Slow Search
Google Ad

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

ca18det into datsun 1200gx
Just popping in
Group:
Registered Users
hi guys im new to the whole datsun world, my last car was a mitsubishi evo 7 which i still have. Im 19 and new to the whole idea about motor swapping. recently i was given a 1200gx as a project car and im very interested in installing a ca18det motor into it. Could anyone help me on how to remove the old gx motor and how to install the ca18det im really interested to learn how to do this ,i do have a lot of knowledge about cars so i can understand certain aspects, anyone's help will be much appreciated. even if you could refer me to a guide on how to do this. thanks

Posted on: 2012/12/29 14:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: ca18det into datsun 1200gx
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
From mandurah
Group:
Registered Users
welcome to the club ! ,firstly when you undertake such a conversion the stock brakes, diff ,fuel lines ,suspension setup will all have to be changed/modded to suit

its alot of work! but if your willing to pay the 10g (or there abouts) to do it then its worth it

first the old motor will need to be pulled out ,easy to take out with the box attached ,just remove tailshaft ,gbox mount and then all the wiring ,and plumbing and stuff off the motor ,unbolt the engine mounts and bang itll lift out ,to make working on a ca powered 1200 easyer ide sudjest chopping the rad support ,then motor and box can go in alot easyer and less chance of damaging stuff