Password:

Lost Password?

Register now!
Fast Search
Slow Search
Google Ad

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

anyone wants a D.I.Y on how to install a gilmer drive on an A series engine?
Home away from home
From Sydney
Group:
Registered Users
Hey everyone i decided i wanted a gilmer drive on my 1200 with an A14 engine..
so i gave it a go aand i succeded!!

i know a few people are interested in doing this and just thought i'd post it up and see if anyone may need step by step help kinda like a D.I.Y. thread on this as i done all the work myself and im a qualified mechanic so its been done properly.. so is anyone interested in a D.I.Y. thread on how to install a gilmer drive Kit?

heres a few pics on how it turned out..

Open in new window

Open in new window

Open in new window

Open in new window

Open in new window

Posted on: 2010/9/19 6:27
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: anyone wants a D.I.Y on how to install a gilmer drive on an A series engine?
Home away from home
From Geelong
Group:
Registered Users
i could well be man, but whats the benefits of them? have you noticed much power increase/response/torque? just for those (like me) that dont know haha

Posted on: 2010/9/19 6:41

Re: anyone wants a D.I.Y on how to install a gilmer drive on an A series engine?
Home away from home
From Sydney
Group:
Registered Users
mate i think theres just less slip on the belt at high rpm and makes a loud winy noise like its supercharged.. i done it just for the noise i honestly dont think theres much if any performance gains..

Posted on: 2010/9/19 7:08

From 48 North
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Performance will be a little less. That wide belt takes a bit o friction to turn it.

in Japan racing, they use a gilmer belt thats only about 15mm wide, about the same as the stock V-belt -- but it won't slip like a stocker.

And it looks really cool.

Posted on: 2010/9/19 7:20

Home away from home
From Brisvegas
Group: