Google Ad

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

newbie question: using weber carb with a stock engine
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
From Toowoomba & New Jersey USA
Group:
Registered Users
This is really 2 questions and probably stupid ones at that. If you guys can't already tell by my username, I am new at this whole thing.

So I am making my first upgrade to my A15 engine. Last weekend I picked up a weber 32/36 carb setup from bert and I am planning to have it installed in my stock ute. (Thanks bert for the sale).

I was told by a work mate that there's no point upgrading the carb without also upgrading extractors and exhaust at the same time as it is like, as he said, "sticking your thumb up your butt and trying to fart at the same time" Is this true?

Second, is there any way for a newbie such as myself to tell whether my ute came with modified extractors / exhaust without taking the parts off? The thing sounds loud as hell as is.

Thanks guys.

Posted on: 2010/11/15 10:29

Re: newbie question: using weber carb with a stock engine
From Ballarat Victoria
Group:
Registered Users
They are not stupid questions at all.

A good way to tell if a bigger carburetor will increase performance it to connect a vacuum guage to the intake manifold and put the engine under full load (wide open throttle in a high gear right through the rev range). If the guage doesnt drop nearly all the way to zero and stay there as the revs increase, there is a restriction in the carb or air cleaner. If this is the case a larger carb will help performance.

An engine and it ancilleries are fairly well matched/balanced from the factory to do their job. If you change just the carb you may get a performance increase but not as much as if you change all the other components on the engine to match/balance with the new carb.

Hope that makes sense

Posted on: 2010/11/15 11:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

From Armidale N.S.W
Group:
Registered Users