Google Ad

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

CA18DE datsun 1200 Ute
Just popping in
From South Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Hey everyone so im new to Datsuns and just bought my first datsun 1200 ute as a project car and im looking into either putting a L20 or CA18de into it, more keen to put CA18 in it but im wondering how much of a pain it will be to get it in there legally? not to worried about how to get the motor in there and running etc that i should be able to sort out, But Im in S.A so was wondering who here has done it and got it through legally? and what was involved to achieve this? i know brakes will need upgrading although its already converted to disc brake front end out of 200B to my knowledge ill be putting larger brakes again.
If anyone who knows could give me an idea of what will be needed or who to ask that would be much appreciated!

Cheers guys

Posted on: 2013/1/4 2:08
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: CA18DE datsun 1200 Ute
Home away from home
From Sydney
Group:
Registered Users
Before you start you will need at least $10,000 maybey more, maybey less depends on how fast you want it to go, crossmembers are sold in SA a place called maddat look them up on the net, I've done this swap in NSW, piss easy work if you are mechanic minded n think ahead of the build, it becomes a puzzle of parts that need putting together, mines a CA18DET, well worth the effort

My 2pence

Posted on: 2013/1/4 6:02

Just popping in
From South Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Getting the motor in there and fitting and running isnt whats worrying me, just whats needed to have it in there legally/engineered! yeah i sussed maddat before i even bought the ute for any parts ill need and that will make the conversion easier but i just wanna know what needs to be upgraded to make running a 1800cc motor legal in it, what parts like brakes, diff etc did u need to change for them to pass it?

Posted on: 2013/1/4 6:48

Home away from home