User Login    
 + Register
  • Main navigation
Login
Username:

Password:


Lost Password?

Register now!
Fast Search
Slow Search
Google Ad



Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2004/2/14 6:21
From Coondle, WA Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2237
Offline
Hi Folks,

just chasing some confirmation on a sump i have picked up.

Ive got an a14 block, with an a15 crank to go in.

And I have the pan in the picture to go on.

From the wiki, it seems like I have an A14 pan, as it doe-sent seem to have the side buldges mentioned to clear the crank, but my dealer assures me its a15.

As I am about to cut this sump up to attach the alloy bottom section as seen in the pic, i dont want to cut up he wrong sump.
Open in new window

---
Open in new window

Attach file:



jpg  20191224_093647.jpg (75.84 KB)
2729_5e0a8cfd655af.jpg 846X635 px

jpg  20191224_093656.jpg (69.54 KB)
2729_5e0a8d06364ff.jpg 846X635 px

Posted on: 12/30 23:51

Edited by reuby_tuesday on 2019/12/31 8:48:05
_________________
EARTH FIRST! - We can mine the other planets later...'
'69 Blue 4 door Project Daisy (http://www.datsun1000.com/TopicView.asp?TopicID=668)
(https://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=5640)
(http://mx5cartalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php...
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2002/8/11 8:22
From Perth
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2640
Offline
Poor pics... just cut the plastic wrap off the engine and not been cleaned
But
I run an A14 block with A15 crank on the race engine
Still with the A14 sump
No bulges

Attach file:



jpg  pan.jpg (167.61 KB)
527_5e0b3360ca16d.jpg 1400X1050 px

jpg  pan1.jpg (158.20 KB)
527_5e0b336fc8921.jpg 1400X1050 px

Posted on: 12/31 11:39
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
Home away from home
Joined:
2012/2/13 1:54
From Mordialloc
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 739
Offline
Quote:

reuby_tuesday wrote:
Hi Folks,

just chasing some confirmation on a sump i have picked up.

Ive got an a14 block, with an a15 crank to go in.

And I have the pan in the picture to go on.

From the wiki, it seems like I have an A14 pan, as it doe-sent seem to have the side buldges mentioned to clear the crank, but my dealer assures me its a15.

As I am about to cut this sump up to attach the alloy bottom section as seen in the pic, i dont want to cut up he wrong sump.
Open in new window

---
Open in new window


Is the sump extension from Tas motorsports? couldn't find it on their website !
dp

Posted on: 12/31 20:12
_________________
'79 B120 ute(TURBO EFI A15 + 60 ser.5spd )
'83 Clubman 7 ( TURBO EFI A15 + 63 ser.dog 5spd )
'73 KB110 Coupe Mild A15 5spd ( Quad carb revver soon)

keep it simple
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2004/2/14 6:21
From Coondle, WA Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2237
Offline
ziggy,

That alloy SR20 sump is from Tas motorsports, bought a while back.

I cant recall if I purchased directly from them or via Ebay.

You can buy plenty of these on ebay =- they are all same same. China Spec copies of the Tomei design
SR20 alloy sump - ebay

What I haven't been able to find is an affordable place to buy the flange needed to adapt this up.

The few places that do sell them for this exact purpose will cost around the $200 mark to get it delivered.
sr20 Sump flange - excessive manufacturing

[img width=300]https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwi6_v_d8-DmAhVIzDgGHa3hAPgQjRx6BAgBEAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fxcessivemanufacturing.com%2Fnissan-drivetrain-chassis-engine-sr-n-sr20-ssf.html&psig=AOvVaw0fpal9IOaDkrm-H0k1AJxQ&ust=1577916648779673[/img]

The item is $73 US, so about $100AUS plus over $100 postage, plus import charges + GST plus whatever else

Ill get them made up at a local laser cutting place, and end up with at least 1 spare due to the min cutting requirement thing they do.

I will have to cut the threads into the flange for the bolts, but thats not biggie

Posted on: 12/31 22:09
_________________
EARTH FIRST! - We can mine the other planets later...'
'69 Blue 4 door Project Daisy (http://www.datsun1000.com/TopicView.asp?TopicID=668)
(https://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=5640)
(http://mx5cartalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php...
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2004/2/14 6:21
From Coondle, WA Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2237
Offline
Quote:

dattoman_1000 wrote:
Poor pics... just cut the plastic wrap off the engine and not been cleaned
But
I run an A14 block with A15 crank on the race engine
Still with the A14 sump
No bulges


Is that engine from your yellow mid mount race car?
I was thinking about lifting up the drain section of the sump pan to a shallower angle to allow for better clearance over the cross member, but Im thinking thats overkill somewhat.
The A14 sump should clear the cross member enough. Im not running downdraft carbs, so I have some extra headroom under the bonnet to play with, plus If I drop the engine too much the drive-line wont line up properly.

Once the engine is in the car, i can double check all that, but my test fitting was done with a standard sump so im sure im fine.

Posted on: 12/31 22:17
_________________
EARTH FIRST! - We can mine the other planets later...'
'69 Blue 4 door Project Daisy (http://www.datsun1000.com/TopicView.asp?TopicID=668)
(https://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=5640)
(http://mx5cartalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php...
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2002/8/11 8:22
From Perth
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2640
Offline
Yep that's from the yellow car
But its an unmodified sump
Was in a 1200 previously
Goes into a 1000 just the same
Only thing is... there's no ground clearance on a 1000 anyway.
Sump sits just off the crossmember and the pan sits down low in the breeze.. .that's why they have those sump guards
Width you will get... depth you will not

I have plans to either mod the pan and move the engine back... or dry sump... when the motor goes into the caged car

Posted on: 1/1 12:07
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30839
Offline
Looking at the bottom is the best way to ID an A15 oil pan. The A15 has stiffening ridges on the bottom

Open in new window


Open in new window


Yes the A14 sump works fine with stock A15 reportedly it will stop knocking the pan after a few minutes. Perhaps if you use custom or modified rods there will be no clearance problems

Attach file:



jpg  oilpan-1.JPG (24.17 KB)
174_5e0e31d103b47.jpg 600X397 px

jpg  oilpan-2.JPG (25.01 KB)
174_5e0e31e4a1814.jpg 600X397 px

jpg  oilpan-3.JPG (27.66 KB)
174_5e0e32137513d.jpg 600X397 px

Posted on: 1/2 18:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2004/2/14 6:21
From Coondle, WA Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2237
Offline
Thanks D for that confirmation.

Yep its def an A14 sump. Once the sump is on the bottom end, ill see how much it hits - if at all (hopefully)

Posted on: 1/7 0:36
_________________
EARTH FIRST! - We can mine the other planets later...'
'69 Blue 4 door Project Daisy (http://www.datsun1000.com/TopicView.asp?TopicID=668)
(https://pcmhacking.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=5640)
(http://mx5cartalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php...
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2003/2/10 5:17
From Freo
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3307
Offline
your Dealer sux....

Posted on: 1/9 7:13
_________________
'68 Thou Wagon,(home now)
'67 Thou Wagon (to be lappo Painted)
'69 2 door project,
A12A Project motor
A15 PSI Project Motor
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IS this an A14 or A15 sump?
No life (a.k.a. DattoMaster)
Joined:
2002/10/28 6:49
From Melbored
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 10700
Offline
You want to make sure there is more than a few mm of clearance
when rotating the crank as when its revving there is enough
crank flex to create the famous machine gun sound some have
experienced in the past.
Personally would just put it in as it is then locate another
sump for the modifications. You will only need to unbolt the
engine mounts and lift the engine up to change over to the
sr wing sump setup.
You will need to sort out tuning and some other things and
as you know you are adding more work to the mountain you
already have to hike up to :)

Posted on: 1/9 9:46
_________________
why you are slaves to Usury https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FEheU28ea3c The Anzac Deception unknown by dumb Aussies http://www.anarchistmedia.org/pdf/The-Anzac-Myth.pdf ""
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]