Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Gearbox Strength
Just can't stay away
From Birchip, VIc , Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Guys,
What's the best way to strengthen a 60A speed Dogleg gearbox. I've heard a little about Straight Cut Gearsets but not much. I don't know exactly what they do, being that I am new to the mechanical world. If someone could draw from there vast knowledge and help me out I would be most appreciative.
I want to keep my 1200 ute Datsun throughout so don't want to change the gearbox. I've got a blown A14 in it and the box needs to handle about 300hp. Can anyone help?

Posted on: 2004/2/27 0:46
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Gearbox Strength
Home away from home
From Canberra
Group:
Registered Users
Well, this is a big subject but I will do my best to try and help.
In short, your best bet would be to replace your existing box with something stronger because it is a very time consuming and expensive exercise to strenghten your current box. You can expect to pay around $1000 for a straight cut gearset and idlers, then extra for any other necessary mods to make it all work and handle the power output of your engine.There is a fair amount of machining and TIG welding required to get it all to work.
I know you want to keep things "datsun" but replacing your existing box with something else "bigger datsun/nissan" would be by far the cheapest and simplest option, especially if it has to cope with 300 Hp.