User Login    
 + Register
  • Main navigation
Login
Username:

Password:


Lost Password?

Register now!
Fast Search
Slow Search
Google Ad



Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 »


79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Home away from home
Joined:
2005/5/14 12:28
From South Dakota USA/Trinidad and Tobago
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 218
Offline
I'm about to do a 4 speed manual conversion on my b310. Got a gearbox but cant seem to find a crossmember. Would I be able to use the crossmember from the auto? Also can I use the stock starter or does the manual have a different one?

Posted on: 7/11 6:24
_________________
3NE 2NR

Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30741
Offline
Starter is the same

Crossmember differs. There are four different ones
* B310 56 4-speed crossmember
* B310 60 4-speed/5-speed crossmember
* B310 60A 5-speed crossmember
* B310 Automatic crossmember

Find them at a wrecking yard. Try Car-part.com if your local yards don't have one

B310 has several holes in the body for the 4 crossmember types.
• Auto, 60L, and 60A all look similar and are 4-bolt
• 56-series looks different and is 2-bolt
Open in new window

Posted on: 7/11 10:20
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30741
Offline
And beware: flywheels differ. Best to get the one that came with the particular 4-speed as the release sleeve varies in length with different flywheel/gearbox/engine plate combinations. If you get all those parts from the same car it should be no problem. But mixing and matching can cause clutch problems

Lastly dont forget to remove the crank spacer before you install the manual gearbox

Posted on: 7/11 10:29
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Home away from home
Joined:
2005/5/14 12:28
From South Dakota USA/Trinidad and Tobago
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 218
Offline
I believe they’re from the same car but not too sure. They both came from the same salvage yard. I’ve been searching for a crossmember on car-part.com but there’s none. Been looking on eBay as well. Might have to post a WTB ad.
About the pedals....I have a complete manual pedal box but can I just remove the auto brake pedal and swap in the manual clutch n brake pedals? I know a lot of Datsuns have the same pedal boxes and u can swap pedals like the 240z

Posted on: 7/11 14:19
_________________
3NE 2NR

Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30741
Offline
car-part.com takes requests

dunno about the B310 pedals. With 1200, no can do -- but Datsun since improved the pedal box design

For general information see
* Gearbox Mount B310
* Manual transmission conversion

Posted on: 7/11 19:23
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/29 1:41
From Melbourne
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 520
Offline
The cross-members turn up on yahoo auctions. There's at least one now:

https://page.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/j576535906

Posted on: 7/12 7:18
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Home away from home
Joined:
2005/5/14 12:28
From South Dakota USA/Trinidad and Tobago
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 218
Offline
Yo dude thanks a lot. I just bid on it👍🏾👍🏾

Posted on: 7/12 16:03
_________________
3NE 2NR

Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Home away from home
Joined:
2005/5/14 12:28
From South Dakota USA/Trinidad and Tobago
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 218
Offline
Can someone tell me how to wire these up? They’re for the back up lights and top gear switch. No idea where those four wires go. It’s on a 60 series 4 speed

https://static.wheelwell.com/u/5a758ca ... b5cb4.large.jpg?width=900
https://static.wheelwell.com/u/05dedff ... f61c6.large.jpg?width=900

Posted on: 7/30 14:26
_________________
3NE 2NR

Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Moderator
Joined:
2001/5/3 7:04
From Hawaii, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Contentmaster
Usermaster
Posts: 30741
Offline
the easy answer answer is that they don't need to be wired up. Will work fine without it

* To make the back-up lights work, wire up the Reverse switch
* To enable clean-air operation, wire up the Top Gear switch -- if your B310 used one in the first place

Reverse Lamp Switch has the two Green wires (Green = Lighting System). The harness in your photo looks like a Red and Green wire. Connect these to your B310's automatic transmission harness same color wires. i cant remember if its in the tunnel or in the shifter box

Top Gear switch has two Yellow wires. Which B310 do you have? FED, CAL or CAN model? A12A, A14 or A15 model? Post a pic of your aluminum underhood ID plate

Attach file:



jpg  05dedff0-fd0f-406a-8d21-725389ff61c6_large.jpg (106.61 KB)
174_5d40910bbeb6e.jpg 900X675 px

jpg  5a758ca1-8208-45ae-831a-7568a0ab5cb4_large.jpg (115.98 KB)
174_5d4091290aa79.jpg 900X675 px

Posted on: 7/30 19:52
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: 79 B310/210 auto to 4 speed swap questions
Home away from home
Joined:
2005/5/14 12:28
From South Dakota USA/Trinidad and Tobago
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 218
Offline
It’s a California spec A14 car. Also how does the starter have to be wired?

Posted on: 7/30 21:15
_________________
3NE 2NR

Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]